Durban (Zulu: eThekwini, from itheku meaning “bay/lagoon”) is the third most populous city in South Africa—after Johannesburg and Cape Town—and the largest city in the South African province of KwaZulu-Natal. Located on the east coast of South Africa, Durban is famous for being the busiest port in the country. It is also seen as one of the major centres of tourism because of the city’s warm subtropical climate and extensive beaches. Durban forms part of the eThekwini Metropolitan Municipality, which includes neighboring towns and has a population of about 3.44 million, making the combined municipality one of the biggest cities on the Indian Ocean coast of the African continent. It is also the second most important manufacturing hub in South Africa after Johannesburg.

In 2015, Durban was recognised as one of the New7Wonders Cities (along with Vigan, Doha, La Paz, Havana, Beirut, and Kuala Lumpur).

Durban as fantastic infra-structure and great quality of life. Durban has a well-developed infrastructure of roads, railways and telecommunications, plentiful semi-skilled and skilled labour, a sophisticated commercial and financial business structure, complemented by a full spectrum of professional services, good access to overseas markets, quality housing, and excellent medical, social and cultural facilities. Modern industrial parks are found throughout the Province and standard factory buildings are available, while custom-built factories for start-ups can be constructed according to specification.